Timbers Rule

My little city has a big soccer team. If I could write anything decent, I would start by trying to describe the pure camaraderie and sense of community I feel every time I attend a home match. It’s an absolute workout while watching, an emotional assault and lovely spectacle of outspoken dedication and furious desire. This is the audience, I’m referring to.

It’s overwhelming being a part of this effort to cheer this great team, this team that has been in this city for as long as I can remember, but now playing on the highest level in the nation, the whole operation nearly brings tears to my eyes.

Football is truly, one of THE greatest sports on the planet, the most universally understood and beautifully played, and my god, the Portland Timbers Football Club makes me want to burn, destroy, wreck and kill.

I mean, you are my sunshine.

Leave a Reply

