Answering Machine

Don’t ever forget there’s so many snakes in the sea, so many sea anemone, so many lovers turned enemies and I love the way we come to need, like hungry little lonely things, brought about to fight and cling to something pure that we once believed.

Cannot fathom to forget her, words strewn like a murder scene, I dismiss her then I miss her and can’t believe I’ve been so mean. Left me here to wonder, whisper, why I’ve lost the only fixture of my telephone ring. I know I can’t be with her though I can’t deny her in her bicker as the cad in me she thinks to trick her, my love wanes weary like a candle’s flicker as my sorrow sings…so leave your name and number and I’ll contemplate to wonder if I’ll wake from slumber for the telephone ring.

Leave a Reply

