Third World Is Out, Developing Nation Is In

Admittedly, many of the people who live here don’t have a lot of stuff. Their furniture is small and plastic or old and wood, their houses unremarkable and mostly empty to leave room for their motorbike, many of the people here just don’t have a lot of things.

One thing they do have, is food. And lots of it. With daily trips to the market, they eat well in Vietnam. With fresh fruits and veggies, breads and noodles and rice and chicken, beef, and duck, seasonings and spices so fresh and good, it makes me sad I’ll be leaving one day. I used to think how unfortunate people were here but I’m peering inside houses during dinner and they look pretty content to me.

Instead of having a bunch of crap cluttering up the house, I’d rather develop me an appetite.

Leave a Reply

