I Need To Start Ripping Off Better Writers

It’s true. Unless you’re Jokin’ Joe Biden.

All art is just one lift after another. We see something we like, we copy and put our name on it. That’s why it’s so nice to read really good writers, I’m just thinking how I can sneak a little of their style into mine with no one the wiser. If I was a painter I’d study the way one guy mixes paint or how one girl holds her brushes. We all learn/steal from each other and that’s what makes being creative so fun. Writers write from their belly and everyone they’ve ever read comes out of that belly in different ways. Someone smart once said, “We are the sum of everyone we meet.” Maybe I should get off the computer and meet more people.

Or maybe I need to start ripping off better philosophers.

Leave a Reply

